Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

Media Release – 2014 AB Export Awards Winners

May 29, 2014 | By | No Comments


2014 Alberta Export Awards Winners Announced

May 28, 2014 Edmonton, Alta. – On Friday, May 23, 2014, Alberta business leaders from across the province gathered in Edmonton, Alta., for the reveal of the 2014 Alberta Export Awards winners. Produced in partnership with Canadian Manufacturers & Exporters (CME) and JuneWarren-Nickle’s Energy Group, this annual event is a celebration of the achievements, innovative approaches and contributions Alberta exporters have made to the provincial and national economy. Sponsors included the Government of Alberta, Edmonton International Airport, HSBC Bank Canada, Export Development Canada, Grant Thornton LLP and Deloitte LLP.

“As an export-driven province, our success depends on the strength of our global exports, and our ability to develop and grow markets in other parts of the world,” Honourable Teresa Woo-Paw said during her speech.

Ashley Robbins, President of AMR Process Inc., former winner of the Exporter of the Year award, stated the company has experienced a 500% growth rate since he last took the stage a few years ago, which stresses the importance of recognizing and supporting local exporters.

In partnership with Canadian Manufacturers & Exporters, Glacier Media Inc., the parent company to JuneWarren-Nickle’s Energy Group, will be producing a larger initiative, the Canada Export Awards, moving forward. In addition to Alberta, British Columbia and Ontario will also host a provincial Export Awards ceremony later this year.

“Exporting is vital to the success of our economy and to the high standard of living that we enjoy in Canada. It’s very important that we take time out to honour and celebrate our export champions on all levels,” said Ian MacGillivray, Vice-President of Business Development and Events, Glacier Media.

More information on the Canada Export Awards and ceremonies in each province can be found on

The finalists and winners for each award category are as follows:

Manufacturing; Other – Includes companies that are engaged in secondary manufacturing, agri-processing, production of value-added products or components, machinery and/or equipment for industrial use.
• DIRTT Environmental Solutions
• NOVA Chemicals Corporation
IMC International Mascot Corporation – Winner

Manufacturing; Oil & Gas – Includes companies that are engaged in manufacturing for the oil and gas industry.
• Hi-Kalibre Equipment Ltd.
• STRATA Energy Services Inc.
• KUDU Industries Inc. – Winner

Agricultural and Consumer Products – Recognizes an Alberta company that specializes in and exports end products for direct-to-consumer or retail markets.
• Green Prairie International Inc.
• Champion Petfoods LP – Winner

Technology and Media – Includes companies or organizations that produce technology products and/or services for media.
• EMSCAN Corporation
• Streamline Automation Ltd.
Pure Technologies Ltd. – Winner

Services – Includes companies or organizations that provide professional services, expert advice, technical support, engineering, consulting or educational programs for Alberta firms.
• SAIT Polytechnic – Winner

Emerging Exporter – Recognizes an up-and-coming Alberta exporter who has excelled in international exportation, and has made a significant contribution to the development of the Alberta economy.
• EMSCAN Corporation
• Extreme Telematics Corp.
Hunter Well Science Ltd. – Winner

Leadership – Recognizes an organization or individual known for championing the cause of exporting in Alberta within their industry or field of expertise.
• John Cotton of Ian Murray and Company – Winner

International Business Student – Recognizes a post-secondary student who has shown leadership and excelled in international studies while contributing to the Alberta export community.
• Charles Ma of MacEwan University – Winner

Exporter of the Year – The Exporter of the Year is deemed to be the best of the best out of sector winners, and will have demonstrated that they have significantly contributed to the Alberta economy through economic growth in their community, new investment and job creation.
• KUDU Industries Inc. – Winner

For more information on award categories and selection criteria, please visit

For more information, please contact:
Andrea Michelussi
Marketing Specialist, JuneWarren-Nickle’s Energy Group

About Canadian Manufacturers & Exporters
Canadian Manufacturers & Exporters (CME) is Canada’s largest trade and industry association and the voice of manufacturing and global business in Canada. Collectively, CME’s membership network accounts for an estimated 82 per cent of Canadian manufacturing production and 90 per cent of all goods and services exports. CME’s mission is to assist Canadian manufacturers and exporters to compete and win in domestic and global markets by leveraging the leadership, expertise, connections and strengths of their members. For more information on CME, please visit

Submit a Comment